The cheapest bike VTUVIA sells has a torque sensor as standard, where the model directly above it does not. That inversion is most of the review — and the missing certification is the rest of it.
$1,299
Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.
We may earn a commission from links on this page. Learn more.
500W
Motor Capacity
70 Miles
Max Range
20 MPH
Class 2 Limit
48V 13Ah
Battery
Colours the merchant lists
Lemon Yellow
Olive Green
Specifications transcribed from VTUVIA’s product page on 2026-08-21. We have not ridden this bike.
Our verdict — BEST VALUE
The Zeal LT7 is the quiet answer to a question most spec sheets do not ask: what actually makes an e-bike pleasant to ride? Not watts. It is the least powerful bike VTUVIA sells — 500W, 65 Nm — and it is the cheapest, and it is the one with the V-Adapt torque sensor, so the assist rises and falls with your legs instead of switching on and off. On 27.5 × 2.6" tires it rolls better on tarmac than anything else here. Its 350 lb payload is the highest VTUVIA offers, though Velotric's Nomad 1 Plus and Packer 1 both carry more at 440 lb. What you give up is certification: VTUVIA states no UL number for this model, and that is a real gap at this price.
Buy it if
You commute on tarmac and want the bike to feel like a bicycle, not a scooter — the torque sensor is the difference.
You are a heavier rider, or you carry a lot: 350 lb is the highest rating VTUVIA offers, though Velotric's Nomad 1 Plus and Packer 1 both go higher at 440 lb.
You want the largest wheels of the fat- and plus-tire bikes here. 27.5 × 2.6" rolls over drain covers and expansion joints without drama.
You want to spend the least VTUVIA asks and still get hydraulic brakes and Shimano gearing.
Skip it if
You need certification in writing — VTUVIA states none for this model.
You ride sand, snow or loose trail. This is a road bike; the fat-tire SF20H is the trail answer.
You want the most torque you can get. 65 Nm is the lowest VTUVIA figure.
You need the bike to fold.
$1,299
Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.
Ranges are usually built so that the money buys the feel: the base model gets a cadence sensor, and somewhere further up the price list the torque sensor appears as a reason to spend more. VTUVIA have built theirs the other way round. The Zeal LT7 is $1,299, the least they ask for anything, and it has a torque sensor fitted as standard where the model directly above it does not.
The $1,399 SF20H above it has a cadence sensor. The $1,599 SX20 has a switchable one and charges $300 more for the privilege of choosing. On the specification that most changes how an e-bike feels under you, nothing above it in the range does better — VTUVIA's newer SN100 at $1,599 and Gemini at $1,899 state torque sensors too, but neither undercuts it — and that inversion is the whole reason this is our value pick rather than the cheapest thing here.
What the sensor actually decides
A cadence sensor asks one question — are the cranks turning? — and if the answer is yes it delivers whatever assist level you selected on the display. Your effort is not part of the calculation. Push twice as hard and the motor does exactly what it was already doing.
A torque sensor measures how hard you are pushing and scales the motor to match. VTUVIA calls theirs V-Adapt. The consequence is that the bike stops being a machine you switch on and becomes a machine that answers you: stand on the pedals at the foot of a rise and the assist rises with you; soft-pedal along a flat and it recedes. That is a difference in what the sensor measures — force at the pedals against rotation of the cranks — rather than a difference in how either system is tuned.
And the second-order effect on range
There is a practical dividend beyond the feel. Because assist tracks effort rather than sitting at a fixed level, a torque-sensed bike tends to draw less current over a mixed ride than a cadence-sensed one set to the same number, simply because it spends more of the ride below that number. VTUVIA claim the same headline 70 miles for this bike as for the SF20H despite a smaller pack, and the sensor is part of why that claim is not absurd.
The smallest battery in the range, and why it goes further anyway
The arithmetic
The pack is 48V and 13Ah: 48 × 13 = 624 watt-hours nominal. That is the smallest battery VTUVIA sells, 48Wh less than the 672Wh in the SF20H, the SX20, the SN100 and the FMB.
$2.08
per watt-hour, at $1,299 for 624Wh
Run the value sum and you get $1,299 ÷ 624Wh ≈ $2.08 per watt-hour — level with the SF20H, and well above AMYET's V9-G60 at $689 ÷ 960Wh ≈ $0.72. Nobody should buy this bike for stored energy per dollar. The point of the price band is that you stop buying energy and start buying the things that determine what the energy does.
Why the smaller pack is not the handicap it looks
Consumption is the other half of range, and it is where the Zeal diverges sharply from its fat-tire siblings. A 2.6-inch tire on tarmac has a fraction of the rolling resistance of a 4-inch fat tire at the low pressures fat tires are run at, and the motor is a 500W unit rather than a 750W one.
Road commuting, moderate assist, torque sensor doing its work: call it 15Wh per mile. 624Wh ÷ 15 ≈ 41 miles.
Mixed riding, higher assist, some gradient: around 20Wh per mile. 624Wh ÷ 20 ≈ 31 miles.
Throttle-heavy, hills, heavier rider: around 30Wh per mile. 624Wh ÷ 30 ≈ 21 miles.
The only road bike VTUVIA sells
27.5 by 2.6 inches
VTUVIA state 27.5-inch wheels on 2.6-inch tires. That is the largest wheel diameter among the fat- and plus-tire bikes here, shared now with EUNORAU's SPECTER-ST 2.0, VTUVIA's own FMB and Velotric's three Discovers — Velotric's T1 ST Plus runs a larger 700c rim, but on a much narrower tire — and one of a handful of tires on this site genuinely biased towards tarmac rather than towards sand, snow and loose ground; the T1 ST Plus's 700 × 40c and the Discovers' 27.5 × 2.4 are the others.
Wheel diameter changes how a bike deals with the things that interrupt a road: a drain cover, an expansion joint, the ridge where a utility trench was filled and never levelled. A larger wheel meets each of those at a shallower angle, drops into it less, and loses less speed climbing back out. Over a commute made of hundreds of small hits rather than a few big ones, that is the difference between a bike that feels smooth and one that feels busy. Our 20 vs 26 inch guide covers the trade in both directions; the Zeal sits at the far end of it.
The 2.6-inch width is the other half. It is wide enough to run at a comfortable pressure and take the edge off broken tarmac, and narrow enough to roll properly. A 20 by 4-inch fat tire buys grip on surfaces this bike has no business being on, and pays for it in drag on every single mile of a road commute.
The fork, with a number attached
The fork is an EXSHO unit with 80mm of travel. The travel figure is the point. Suspension is the specification brands most reliably decline to quantify — AMYET publish no travel for any of their five bikes, and VTUVIA themselves name the same EXSHO fork on the SX20 without publishing its travel. Here the number is on the listing.
Eighty millimetres is a commuter figure rather than a trail figure, and it should be read that way: enough to take the sting out of a kerb or a pothole, not enough to make this a bike for singletrack. Paired with 2.6-inch tires, that is a coherent set of choices for a bike whose job is a road.
Specification as the actual product
Named down to the model number
The drivetrain is a Shimano 7-speed, which is unremarkable, listed as a TY200D derailleur with a TX50 shifter, which is not. Almost nobody at this price names the derailleur model. Nor do they name the fork brand and its travel, or the brake brand — LOGAN, hydraulic, 180mm rotors — or a bare bike weight, which VTUVIA give as 62 lb.
This is a running theme across VTUVIA's three oldest listings and it is the substantive difference between this bracket and the one below it. AMYET publish no torque figure, no bike weight, no rider height, no sensor type and no fork travel for any of their five bikes. You can compare VTUVIA bikes to each other and to the wider market on the numbers. You cannot do that with a listing that says "dual disc brakes" and stops.
Naming a part is also a commitment. A brand that publishes TY200D has told you what to expect and given you something to hold them to when the box arrives. See AMYET vs VTUVIA for what that difference costs.
The highest payload of VTUVIA's older three
VTUVIA rate the Zeal LT7 to 350 lb — above the 330 lb of the SF20H and SX20, and well above EUNORAU's 286 lb META26 — though VTUVIA's own SN100 is rated to 400 lb, and Velotric's Nomad 1 Plus, Packer 1 and three Discovers carry more again, at 440 lb apiece.
350 lb
maximum payload, second in VTUVIA's range to the SN100's 400 lb
Two things about that number. It is a total: rider, clothing, rack, bags and everything in them. And the rack is a separate matter — VTUVIA sell it as an extra and rate it to 50 lb, where the SF20H includes a welded one. The 50 lb rack rating is not carved out of the 350 lb total; it is a limit on what may sit on the rack itself, and both apply at once. Riders near either ceiling should read our guide for heavier riders, because payload interacts with spoke count, rim strength and braking in ways a headline number hides.
The gap, and it is a real one
No UL certification is stated
VTUVIA state no certification for the Zeal LT7. Not UL 2271, not UL 2849, nothing.
This is not a technicality to file under further reading. The same brand, on the same website, states both UL 2271 and UL 2849 for the SF20H — a bike $100 more expensive. That makes the silence here a choice about this product rather than a company that does not bother with certification copy.
Why it may decide the purchase for you
If you keep the bike in a house or a garage and charge it there, this may not affect you at all. If you live in an apartment, it can be the whole decision. A growing number of US buildings, insurers and city rules now ask for certification in writing before a bike may be stored or charged indoors, and New York City's Local Law 39 is only the best-known instance. In that situation a $1,299 bike you are not permitted to charge where you live is not cheaper than a $1,399 bike you are.
The honest advice is to ask VTUVIA in writing before ordering, and to treat the answer as the answer — not the sibling model's paperwork, and not a product page's silence.
Who it is for
Buy the Zeal LT7 if your riding is tarmac, you want the assist to feel like a strong version of your own legs, you are a heavier rider or a loaded one, and certification is not a condition of keeping the bike where you live. On those terms it is the most equipment per dollar VTUVIA sell.
Skip it if you need certification in writing, if you ride loose ground or snow — the fat-tire SF20H is that answer, and the SF20H vs Zeal LT7 comparison sets the two side by side — or if you want the most torque available, since 65 Nm is the lowest figure VTUVIA publish, against 85 Nm on the SF20H and SX20, 100 Nm on the Gemini and 160 Nm on the FMB. That gap is real on a steep loaded climb and much smaller than it looks on a flat commute, where the sensor and the wheels do more for the ride than the extra 20 Nm would.
What we like
V-Adapt torque sensor — the only VTUVIA with one as standard, and it is the cheapest bike they sell
350 lb payload, the highest in the VTUVIA range
27.5 × 2.6" wheels roll far better on road than any 20-inch fat tire here
80mm EXSHO fork with the travel figure actually published
Shimano derailleur and shifter named down to the model number
LOGAN 180mm hydraulic brakes at the lowest price in the VTUVIA range
What gives us pause
No UL certification stated — a real gap when the sibling SF20H has two
624Wh is the smallest pack VTUVIA sells
65 Nm is the lowest torque figure in the range
Rear rack is an extra, where the SF20H includes a welded one
Not a trail bike — 2.6-inch tires on 80mm of front travel have limits
Merchant claims on the left of each row, our reading indented beneath. Where the merchant publishes nothing, the row says so.
Every figure below is the merchant's own published claim, transcribed from their product page on 2026-08-21. Indented notes are ours. We have not ridden this bike and we do not publish measurements we did not take.
Motor & performance
Rated motor
48V 500W rear hub motor
Peak motor
750W peak
Motor torque
65 Nm
Lower than the SF20H's 85 Nm. VTUVIA pairs this motor with a torque sensor, which scales assist to how hard you push, where the SF20H uses a cadence sensor that applies your chosen level whenever the cranks turn. Both are rear hub motors, so neither multiplies its torque through the gears: 65 Nm against 85 Nm at the wheel, in every gear.
Top speed
20 MPH (Class 2)
Assist sensor
V-Adapt torque sensor
This is the headline feature and the reason we call it best value. Assist scales with pedal pressure, where a cadence sensor applies the level you selected whenever the cranks turn, regardless of effort.
Battery & range
Battery
48V 13Ah removable lithium-ion
Energy capacity
624Wh
48V × 13Ah = 624Wh nominal — the smallest pack VTUVIA sells, though narrower tires and a lighter motor draw less per mile than a fat-tire bike does.
Claimed range
Up to 70 miles pedal assist, up to 38 miles throttle only
The same 70-mile assisted claim as the SF20H from a smaller pack, which is plausible: 2.6-inch tires on tarmac roll far more efficiently than 4-inch fat tires.
Charge time
About 7 hours
Frame & running gear
Frame
Aluminium step-through commuter frame
Wheel size
27.5 inch
The largest wheel of the fat- and plus-tire bikes here — Velotric's T1 ST Plus runs a larger 700c rim, but on a much narrower tire. A 27.5-inch wheel carries speed over broken tarmac and expansion joints in a way a 20-inch wheel cannot.
Tire
27.5" × 2.6"
Suspension
EXSHO suspension fork, 80mm travel
Named fork with a published travel figure. Compare the SX20, where VTUVIA names the same fork brand but publishes no travel.
Brakes
LOGAN hydraulic disc brakes, 180mm rotors
Drivetrain
Shimano 7-speed, TY200D derailleur with TX50 shifter
VTUVIA names the exact derailleur and shifter models. Almost nobody at this price does.
Display
G51 LCD display
Fit & limits
Max payload
350 lbs
The highest payload rating in the VTUVIA range — Velotric's Nomad 1 Plus and Packer 1 both carry more at 440 lb. VTUVIA notes the rear rack is sold separately and rated to 50 lb.
Bike weight
62 lbs
Rider height
5'3" – 6'2"
Water resistance
Not published
Buying it
Certification
Not stated on the product listing
VTUVIA states UL 2271 and UL 2849 for the SF20H but gives no certification for the Zeal LT7. We do not infer one from the sibling model. If certification is a requirement for you, ask VTUVIA in writing before ordering.
Warranty
2-year frame warranty
Assembly
Ships mostly assembled with toolkit and manual
In the box
E-bike, charger, toolkit, manual, keys. Rear rack sold separately
Shipping
Free shipping within the contiguous US
Returns
See VTUVIA's published return policy at checkout
Third-party video
Riders who do have the Zeal LT7
Not ours. These are other people’s YouTube reviews, loaded only when you press play.
It changes when and how much help arrives. A cadence sensor watches whether the pedals are turning and applies the assist level you selected; push harder and nothing changes. A torque sensor measures how hard you are pushing and scales the motor to match, so the bike surges as you stand on a hill and eases as you soft-pedal. The difference is in what the motor is responding to — your effort, or merely the fact that the cranks are turning.
Is 500W enough?+
For road commuting, yes, and the more useful number is the 65 Nm of torque. Watts describe how fast energy is delivered; newton-metres describe how hard the motor turns the wheel, which is what a hill demands. Paired with 27.5-inch wheels and a torque sensor, 500W is a comfortable road setup. For steep loaded climbing or soft ground, the 85 Nm SF20H or a mid-drive is the better tool.
Why is the cheapest bike your best-value pick?+
Because value here is not watt-hours per dollar — on that measure AMYET wins outright. Above about $1,200 you stop buying stored energy and start buying brakes, sensors, gearing and published specifications. The Zeal LT7 has the torque sensor, the hydraulic brakes, the named fork travel and the named derailleur at the lowest price in VTUVIA's range. That is the most equipment per dollar in this bracket.
Is the Zeal LT7 UL certified?+
VTUVIA does not state a certification for this model. They do state UL 2271 and UL 2849 for the SF20H, so the omission here is a choice rather than an oversight in their copy, and we will not assume the standard carries across the range. If your building requires certification, ask VTUVIA directly before you order.
Can it take a rear rack?+
Yes, but VTUVIA sells it separately and rates it to 50 lb. That rack rating is separate from the 350 lb total payload — the payload figure covers rider plus everything on the bike, the rack figure covers what sits on the rack itself.