Skip to content
22 e-bikes compared, from $639.99 to $2,999

Comparison

VTUVIA SF20H vs Zeal LT7

The sharpest decision VTUVIA offers. One bike has the paperwork and folds; the other has the sensor and the wheels, and costs less.

Published 2026-08-21 · updated 2026-08-22 · 9 min read

The short answer

Buy the SF20H if a building manager, an insurer or your own caution wants certification in writing, or if the bike has to fold and be lifted. It ties Velotric’s T1 ST Plus as the cheapest bike on this site stating both UL 2271 and UL 2849, and at 60 lb it is the lightest fat-tire bike here. Buy the Zeal LT7 if you ride tarmac and want the assist to answer your legs rather than your cranks. It is cheaper, it has the torque sensor, and among the three oldest VTUVIAs it carries the highest payload.

VTUVIA SF20H folding fat-tire utility e-bike

01 · BEST OVERALL

VTUVIA SF20H

Best for
Riders who need the bike to fold and to be liftable, and who want certification paperwork they can show a building manager.
Rated motor
750W
Torque
85 Nm
Battery
48V 14Ah LG
Energy capacity
672Wh
Claimed range
40–70 mi
Top speed
20 MPH (Class 2)
Wheel size
20"
Tire
20 × 4.0"
Suspension
Front fork only
Brakes
180mm hydraulic disc
Assist sensor
Cadence
Drivetrain
7-speed Shimano
Max payload
330 lb
Bike weight
60 lb
Rider height
5'3"–6'2"
Price
$1,399
Certification
UL 2271 + UL 2849
Warranty
2 years (frame)
$1,399$1,599−13%

Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.

VTUVIA Zeal LT7 step-through commuter e-bike

02 · BEST VALUE

VTUVIA Zeal LT7

Best for
Daily road commuting where ride quality, a natural-feeling assist and a high weight limit matter more than raw power.
Rated motor
500W
Torque
65 Nm
Battery
48V 13Ah
Energy capacity
624Wh
Claimed range
38–70 mi
Top speed
20 MPH (Class 2)
Wheel size
27.5"
Tire
27.5 × 2.6"
Suspension
80mm front fork
Brakes
180mm hydraulic disc
Assist sensor
Torque sensor
Drivetrain
7-speed Shimano
Max payload
350 lb
Bike weight
62 lb
Rider height
5'3"–6'2"
Price
$1,299
Certification
Not stated
Warranty
2 years (frame)
$1,299

Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.

All figures are merchant claims, dated on each product page.

In one line each

Which one is for you

VTUVIA SF20H folding fat-tire utility e-bike

BEST OVERALL

VTUVIA SF20H

Pick this one if you need certification you can show someone, or you carry the bike as often as you ride it.

$1,399$1,599−13%

Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.

Check price
VTUVIA Zeal LT7 step-through commuter e-bike

BEST VALUE

VTUVIA Zeal LT7

Pick this one if your commute is tarmac, you want assist that scales with effort, or you need the 350 lb payload.

$1,299

Merchant price, checked 2026-08-21. Verify before buying.

Check price

A hundred dollars, and two different arguments

VTUVIA lists the SF20H at $1,399 and the Zeal LT7 at $1,299. On a purchase this size, a hundred dollars is noise, and it is the wrong place to begin.

Begin instead with what each bike is for. The SF20H is a folding fat-tire bike that VTUVIA states weighs 60 lb and certifies to both UL 2271 and UL 2849. The Zeal LT7 is a road commuter on 27.5-inch wheels with a V-Adapt torque sensor, a 350 lb payload rating second in VTUVIA’s range only to the SN100’s 400 lb, and no certification stated at all. They overlap on brakes, on gearing and on price. They overlap on almost nothing else.

The energy costs the same either way

$2.08 vs $2.08

price per nominal watt-hour

$1,399 ÷ 672Wh works out at roughly $2.08 per watt-hour. $1,299 ÷ 624Wh works out at roughly $2.08 per watt-hour. To the cent, these two bikes charge you the same for stored energy, which is a tidy demonstration that the hundred dollars is not buying battery at all.

What the hundred dollars buys, going up, is two UL standards, four-inch tires, a folding hinge, a welded rear rack and twenty more newton-metres. What the hundred dollars you keep buys, going down, is a torque sensor, wheels as large as any fat- or plus-tire bike here runs and a 350 lb weight limit. Neither is obviously the better trade. It depends on which of those lists describes your life.

Certification is the thing you cannot add later

This is the reason to take the SF20H seriously even if you never intend to fold it.

What the two standards actually cover

UL 2271 certifies the battery pack. UL 2849 certifies the complete electrical system — battery, charger, controller and motor evaluated together as one product. They are not interchangeable and a bike can hold one without the other. VTUVIA states both for the SF20H, which ties it with Velotric's T1 ST Plus as the cheapest bike on this site with both on the listing, and makes it the only one outside Velotric's range to state both.

For the Zeal LT7, VTUVIA's listing states no certification. Not a different standard, not a pending one: none.

Why this decides some purchases outright

If you live in a building whose management has put certification in writing before you may charge indoors, this comparison is already over. A cheaper bike with a better sensor is no use if it has to live on a balcony in February. A growing number of US cities, landlords and contents insurers now ask for UL 2849 specifically, because it is the standard that covers the charger and controller rather than the cells alone.

If nobody has ever asked you for a certificate, the calculation changes completely, and everything below matters more than everything above.

The sensor is the thing you feel

VTUVIA fits the SF20H with a cadence sensor and the Zeal LT7 with what they call a V-Adapt torque sensor. This is the single largest difference in how the two bikes ride, and no amount of motor specification compensates for it.

Cadence: the motor watches your cranks

A cadence sensor asks one question — are the pedals turning? — and if the answer is yes it applies whatever assist level you have selected. Push harder and nothing changes. Ease off and nothing changes until you stop. The result is a bike that surges in at a fixed level and holds there, which some riders find restful and others find like riding a moped that occasionally remembers you have legs.

It is also the cheaper part, which is why it appears on the more expensive bike here only because the money went elsewhere: into the certification, into the folding frame, into 85 Nm of torque against the Zeal's 65 Nm.

Torque: the motor watches you

A torque sensor measures how hard you are actually pressing and scales the motor to match. Stand on the pedals at the foot of a rise and the assist rises with you; soft-pedal along a flat and it recedes. The bike behaves like a stronger version of your own legs rather than a separate power source you switch on.

There is a second-order benefit. Because assist tracks effort rather than sitting at a fixed level, a torque sensor tends to draw less from the pack over a mixed ride, which is part of why VTUVIA can claim the same 70-mile assisted figure for the Zeal LT7's 624Wh as for the SF20H's 672Wh. Our guide to choosing an electric bike treats the sensor as the specification most worth paying for, and this pair is the clearest illustration of why.

Wheels, surface and the fork

The SF20H runs 20 × 4.0-inch fat tires. The Zeal LT7 runs 27.5 × 2.6-inch tires — the largest wheel diameter of the fat- and plus-tire bikes here. Velotric's T1 ST Plus runs a larger 700c rim, but on a far narrower tire, so it is not really a rival on this measure.

That is not a small difference in feel. A 27.5-inch wheel meets a pothole lip at a shallower angle than a 20-inch wheel, so it rolls out rather than dropping in, and it holds its momentum over sustained chatter. On tarmac and hardpack it is simply calmer and faster for the same effort. A 2.6-inch tire is wide by road standards and still narrow enough to roll properly.

Four-inch tires answer differently. They float on sand, snow and loose gravel where a 2.6-inch tire cuts in and washes out, and their air volume does suspension work no fork can. The cost is drag, weight and a bike that feels busier at speed. Our fat tire guide and 20 vs 26 inch guide go through the trade properly.

One fork has a number and one does not

VTUVIA publishes 80mm of travel for the Zeal LT7's EXSHO fork. For the SF20H they publish a front suspension fork with no travel figure. Both bikes are front-suspension only — the SF20H because a rear shock and a folding hinge compete for the same real estate.

Eighty millimetres is a commuter figure, not a trail figure, and we would say so plainly. But a published number you can judge is worth more than an unpublished one you cannot, and this is a small example of a pattern that runs through the whole VTUVIA range.

Weight, folding and how much you can load

350 lb

the Zeal LT7's payload, second in VTUVIA's range to the SN100's 400 lb

The SF20H is 60 lb and folds; the Zeal LT7 is 62 lb and does not. Two pounds is nothing, so the folding hinge is the entire practical difference — and folding is worth a great deal if the bike goes in a car boot, an RV or a cupboard, and nothing at all if it lives in a garage.

Be honest about what folding does not do. Sixty pounds is still sixty pounds. It fits in more places; it does not become carriable up three flights.

Payload runs the other way and runs further. VTUVIA rates the Zeal LT7 to 350 lb and the SF20H to 330 lb, and both figures cover rider, clothing, lock, bag and everything in it. Twenty pounds of headroom decides more purchases than people expect. If you are anywhere near either number, our guide for heavier riders explains why the payload figure is really a statement about wheels, spokes and brakes. Note also that the Zeal LT7's rear rack is a separate purchase rated to 50 lb, where the SF20H arrives with a welded rack included.

Range, done as arithmetic

VTUVIA publishes two figures for each bike, which is more useful than one: up to 70 miles assisted and up to 40 on throttle for the SF20H, up to 70 assisted and up to 38 on throttle for the Zeal LT7.

Do the division yourself instead. A 20-inch fat-tire bike on moderate assist plausibly draws around 20Wh per mile, so 672Wh ÷ 20 ≈ 34 miles for the SF20H. A narrower-tired bike with a torque sensor on tarmac plausibly draws nearer 15Wh per mile, so 624Wh ÷ 15 ≈ 42 miles for the Zeal LT7. Both are estimates from published capacity, not measurements.

The counter-intuitive result is that the smaller pack probably goes further on the road, and the larger pack probably goes further on sand. That is the whole comparison in one line. Why claimed range is never the range you get works through where the manufacturer numbers come from.

The decision

If a piece of paper stands between you and charging the bike indoors, buy the SF20H and do not agonise. If it does not, the Zeal LT7 is the better road bicycle, the more pleasant thing to pedal, the higher weight limit and the cheaper bike, and the certification gap is a real cost you are choosing to accept with your eyes open.

The one case where neither wins cleanly: you want the torque sensor and the fat tires and the folding frame together. VTUVIA sells that bike — it is the SX20 at $1,599, with a switchable sensor, ten more pounds and no UL number either. We compare it with the SF20H here.

Common questions

Is the Zeal LT7 UL certified?

VTUVIA does not state a certification for the Zeal LT7 on its product listing. They do state UL 2271 and UL 2849 for the SF20H, so the omission is worth reading as deliberate rather than as an oversight in the copy, and we will not carry one model’s certification across to another. If your building, insurer or employer requires certification before you may charge or store the bike indoors, ask VTUVIA directly and get the answer in writing before you order.

Does the SF20H really need to be $100 more?

On stored energy the two are identical value: $1,399 ÷ 672Wh and $1,299 ÷ 624Wh both come out near $2.08 per watt-hour. So the $100 is not battery. It is the two UL standards, the folding hinge, the four-inch tires, the welded rear rack and 85 Nm against 65 Nm. If none of those matter to you, the SF20H is simply the more expensive bike, and the Zeal LT7 with its torque sensor is the better ride for less money.

Which one actually goes further?

It depends on the surface, and probably not the way the capacity figures suggest. VTUVIA claims up to 70 miles assisted for both. Arithmetic from published capacity is more useful: at around 20Wh per mile for a fat-tire bike, 672Wh ÷ 20 ≈ 34 miles on the SF20H; at around 15Wh per mile for a narrower-tired bike with a torque sensor, 624Wh ÷ 15 ≈ 42 miles on the Zeal LT7. Both are estimates. On loose ground the fat bike reverses the result.

How much does the torque sensor change things?

More than any other single specification on either bike. A cadence sensor applies your selected assist level whenever the pedals move, so pushing harder changes nothing. A torque sensor measures pedal pressure and scales the motor with it, so the assist rises as you stand on a climb and fades as you ease off. Riders generally describe the difference as the bike feeling like a bicycle rather than a throttle with cranks attached. It also tends to use less battery over a mixed ride.

Can either bike carry a heavier rider?

The Zeal LT7 is rated to 350 lb, second in VTUVIA’s range to the SN100’s 400 lb; the SF20H is rated to 330 lb. Elsewhere on this site, Velotric’s Nomad 1 Plus, Packer 1 and three Discovers all go higher, at 440 lb. Both VTUVIA numbers are totals: you, your clothing, your lock, your bag and its contents. If your loaded total is close to either ceiling, the Zeal LT7 gives you twenty more pounds of margin. Bear in mind that the Zeal LT7’s rear rack is sold separately and rated to 50 lb of its own, which is a limit on what sits on the rack rather than an addition to the payload.

Is 65 Nm enough, or should I take the 85 Nm bike?

VTUVIA publishes 65 Nm for the Zeal LT7 and 85 Nm for the SF20H. Both are rear hub motors, so each delivers its torque to the wheel unchanged by gear selection. The Zeal LT7 pairs its 65 Nm with a torque sensor, which scales assist to how hard you push; the SF20H uses a cadence sensor, which applies the level you selected whenever the cranks turn. Wheel diameter enters the comparison too: at 27.5 inches against 20, the same cassette gives taller effective gearing, which favours cruising over starting on a pitch. If your route has a hill you actively dread, neither of these hub motors is the real answer — our hills guide explains why a mid-drive multiplies torque through the gears in a way a hub motor cannot.

Keep reading