Skip to content
22 e-bikes compared, from $639.99 to $2,999

Buying guide

Single vs dual motor e-bikes

A second motor buys traction and costs range, weight and money. A mid-drive buys torque instead, and gearing multiplies it. Neither is the default answer.

Published 2026-08-21 · updated 2026-08-22 · 13 min read

AMYET S8 dual-motor electric bike photographed outdoors

The short version

  • A second motor buys traction before it buys speed. A wheel that is spinning cannot use power it cannot put down.
  • Combined 3000W figures are peak numbers. The rated figure is the one that predicts a sustained climb.
  • A mid-drive drives through the gears, so its torque is multiplied; a hub motor is stuck in one ratio no matter how many of them you fit.
  • Two driven wheels raise watt-hours per mile, so a bigger battery does not automatically mean more range.
  • AMYET publishes no torque figure at all for the S8 or the Ares, so neither of its dual-motor bikes can be compared on the number that matters. EUNORAU’s FLASH Lite, in its dual-hub AWD configuration, does publish one: 184 Nm combined.
  • Buy two motors for gradient, loose ground or load. On flat commuting they are weight, cost and consumption for nothing.

What a second driven wheel actually gives you

The obvious answer is more power, and it is the wrong one. The useful answer is traction.

A motor can only deliver as much force to the ground as the tire can hold without slipping. That limit is set by the weight over the wheel and the grip available, not by the motor's rating. Once the tire breaks loose, extra watts do nothing except spin the wheel faster and heat the motor. A single 1000W rear hub motor on a steep, loose climb frequently reaches this point long before its power limit.

Adding a front motor changes the arithmetic rather than the power budget. Tractive effort is now split across two contact patches, each with its own share of the bike's weight, so each has to break grip independently. The bike keeps pulling where a single-motor bike stops making progress.

Weight transfer is the other half of it

When a bike accelerates or climbs, weight shifts rearward — which helps a rear motor and hurts a front one. On a steep climb the front wheel is the lightly loaded one and the first to slip, which is why a front-only drive is a poor design and a dual drive is a good one. The rear does most of the work and the front adds whatever grip it can find.

Two contact patches

the real product of a second motor

The honest way to describe all-wheel drive on an e-bike is as a surface capability, not a performance upgrade. On dry tarmac, where a single rear wheel has more grip than the motor can use, a second motor contributes little that a bigger single motor would not.

Where all-wheel drive earns its keep

Four situations, all of them defined by the ground rather than by the bike.

Loose and soft surfaces. Sand, gravel, fresh snow, wet leaf litter, soft forest floor — low-grip surfaces where a rear wheel digs in and loses drive. With a front motor pulling, the bike tracks forward instead of digging a hole.

Wet roots, rock and painted surfaces. Grip here is intermittent rather than uniformly low. A single driven wheel loses drive entirely each time it crosses a slick patch; two are rarely both on it at once.

Steep starts under load. Pulling away uphill with a rider, luggage and possibly a child seat is the hardest thing a hub motor is asked to do: torque demand at its highest, road speed zero, no momentum. A front motor contributing there is worth more than a larger rear motor, because the constraint is grip rather than output.

Sustained gradient. On a long climb a single motor absorbs all of the heat. Hub motors have no active cooling and protect themselves by cutting power when the windings get hot. Splitting the load across two halves the thermal duty on each. Our guide to e-bikes for hills covers why heat, not wattage, usually ends a climb.

Rated, peak, and the 3000W headline

Dual-motor bikes are marketed on a combined number, and it is almost always the peak.

Rated power is what a motor can sustain more or less indefinitely without overheating. Peak power is a short-burst figure — the best few seconds of the motor's life, not something it will hold for a three-minute climb.

On the S8, AMYET publishes both: two 1000W motors rated, so 2000W combined, and 3000W combined peak. Both appear across AMYET's own pages, and it is to their credit that the rated number is published at all — plenty of brands print only the larger one. The Ares carries the identical pair of claims on a folding 24-inch frame.

Two things follow. When you compare a 3000W dual-motor bike against a 1500W single, you are comparing two peak figures; the honest comparison is 2000W rated against 1000W rated. And a combined peak describes both motors at maximum simultaneously, which the controller may not permit and the battery may not be able to feed. Our motor wattage guide takes the vocabulary apart. AMYET lists both the V9-G60 and the EB26 at 1000W rated with a 1500W peak claim, so against the G60 the S8 offers double each, spread across two wheels.

Two hub motors, or one mid-drive

This is the comparison a single-brand range cannot make, and it is the more important one. There are two dual-motor bikes here now — AMYET's S8 and its folding Ares — with EUNORAU's FLASH Lite offering a dual-hub AWD configuration as a third route, and none of them is the only way to solve the problem they solve.

A hub motor sits inside the wheel and pushes it directly. Whatever torque it makes arrives at the rim unchanged, in every gear, at every speed. A second hub motor doubles the number of wheels making that fixed torque; it does not change the ratio either works through, because there is no ratio — the motor is bolted to the thing it is trying to turn.

A mid-drive sits at the cranks, so its output passes through the cassette before it reaches the road. In a low gear the drivetrain multiplies the motor's torque exactly as it multiplies yours. That is a different mechanism from adding a second motor, and on a gradient a more effective one.

The numbers, as published

EUNORAU publishes 220 Nm for the FLASH 2.0, from a 52V 1000W Truckrun mid-drive through Shimano 8-speed gearing, and 160 Nm for the SPECTER-S 3.0 and the SPECTER-ST 2.0, both from a 48V 1000W Bafang G510 through SRAM NX 11-speed. VTUVIA publishes the same 160 Nm for the FMB, from the same Bafang motor, and Velotric publishes 100 Nm for the mid-drive Discover M through a 9-speed 11–46T — five mid-drives across three brands, not two from one, which is the change that matters most in this comparison. Outside the mid-drives, VTUVIA publishes 100 Nm for the Gemini, the highest single-motor figure here, though VTUVIA does not state where that motor sits; 85 Nm for the SF20H and SX20 and 65 Nm for the Zeal LT7; EUNORAU publishes 92 Nm for the rear-hub FLASH Lite and 55 Nm for the META26; and Velotric publishes 75 Nm for the Nomad 1 Plus, the Packer 1, the Discover 2 and the Discover 3, and 40 Nm for the T1 ST Plus, the lowest figure on this site.

220 Nm through eight gears

what a second hub motor cannot do

The comparison is not quite like for like. A hub motor's newton-metre figure is measured at the wheel, where it is used; a mid-drive's at the crank, before the gears touch it. That makes the mid-drive's advantage larger than the raw numbers suggest in low gears and smaller in high ones, and it means its force runs through your chain and cassette.

And the number AMYET does not publish

Here is the problem with recommending the S8 on climbing ability. AMYET publishes no torque figure for it, or for any of its five bikes. Two 1000W motors and a 35 degree slope claim are what the listing offers, and neither is a newton-metre number you can put beside 220, 160, 100, 92, 85, 75, 65, 55 or 40. The Ares is worse served again: two 1000W motors, no torque figure, no slope claim and no range claim either.

That is not a finding against the motors. It means the specification that predicts climbing better than any other is missing from both of the dual-motor bikes here, so neither can be compared on it. The contrast is now sharper than it was, because EUNORAU does publish a combined figure for the FLASH Lite's dual-hub option — 184 Nm from two 750W motors — which shows the number is publishable on a two-motor bike. Where VTUVIA, EUNORAU and Velotric let you rank almost all of their bikes by torque before you spend anything, AMYET asks you to infer it from watts — and watts describe how fast energy is delivered, not how hard the wheel is turned.

What two motors cost

Everything above is the case for. Here is the bill.

Money. AMYET prices the S8 at $1,049 against $689 for the G60, $669 for the EB26 and $639.99 for the K10, which is now the cheapest bike on this site — so the second motor costs roughly half as much again as the cheapest single-motor bike in the same range. The folding Ares is $1,099. That premium also buys hydraulic disc brakes, full suspension and a larger battery, not only the second motor.

Weight, and where it sits. A front hub motor adds unsprung, rotating mass at the steering end: heavier over a kerb, slower to turn, more tiring on a rough surface. AMYET states all-wheel drive for the S8 and the Ares without saying where either motor sits, so read what follows as reasoning about front-wheel drive in general, not as a specification AMYET has published. AMYET publishes no bare bike weight for any of its five models, so the exact penalty is unknown — but two motors, a 1200Wh pack and full suspension make the S8 comfortably the heaviest AMYET on paper, and the Ares adds two motors, a 1,040Wh pack, dual suspension and a folding hinge to the same problem.

Complexity. Two motors, two sets of phase and hall wiring, two controllers or one dual controller, and a front wheel carrying a cable routed through the steering. Every one can fail and every connector can corrode.

Consumption. The one people miss, and the one that matters most. Two motors drawing simultaneously consume energy faster than one, and a second hub drags even when it is not driving.

The range arithmetic, which is not intuitive

A common assumption is that the dual-motor bike goes further because it has the biggest battery. On the AMYET line the arithmetic points the other way.

The S8 carries 48V and 25Ah, which is 1200 watt-hours — still the largest single pack of the twenty-two bikes we cover that publish a resolvable capacity, with AMYET's own Ares 2 next at 52V 20Ah, or 1,040Wh. The G60 carries 48V and 20Ah, which is 960. On stored energy the S8 leads by 25 percent. But range is energy divided by consumption, and consumption is where the second motor collects its debt. Using general category figures for a fat-tire e-bike — around 25 watt-hours per mile for moderate mixed riding, around 40 for harder work with both motors driving on rough ground:

  1. S8: 1200Wh divided by 40Wh per mile is roughly 30 miles.
  2. G60: 960Wh divided by 25Wh per mile is roughly 38 miles.

~30 mi vs ~38 mi

estimates, S8 against G60

That assumption is fair only if you use both motors. Ridden gently on one motor on flat ground, the S8's larger pack would take it further than the G60. The point is not that the S8 has poor range; it is that the bigger battery is there to cover the second motor rather than to extend the ride. AMYET claims a maximum of 70 to 75 miles for the S8, a figure almost certainly derived at low assist on flat ground and not with both motors working.

The mid-drives are instructive too, because gearing lets a motor stay efficient rather than labouring. EUNORAU publishes 832Wh for the FLASH and approximately 2,808Wh with all three optional packs, and claims up to 220 miles from those three. That implies 12.8 watt-hours per mile, which we do not find credible for a bike EUNORAU itself lists at approximately 110 lb. At a more honest 25Wh per mile, 2,808 divided by 25 is roughly 112 miles — still the longest range here. EUNORAU makes the identical claim from the identical packs for the FLASH Lite, and it fails identically. The method is in our battery and range guide.

This deserves attention before the purchase rather than after it.

Around forty US states use a three-class framework: Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 MPH, Class 2 adds a throttle at the same cap, Class 3 is assist to 28 MPH with restrictions on where it may be used. Most states that adopted the framework also cap a legal e-bike's motor at around 750 watts nominal.

A dual-motor bike with two 1000W rated motors is at 2000W combined nominal, well past that ceiling in any state applying it, and both AMYET dual-motor bikes are described that way. AMYET publishes up to 32 MPH for the S8, with a 35 MPH figure appearing elsewhere on their pages, and up to 32 MPH for the Ares — all above the Class 3 limit of 28. By contrast, EUNORAU's SPECTER-S is a 28 MPH bike sitting exactly at the Class 3 ceiling, and the VTUVIA SF20H, Zeal LT7 and SX20 ship factory limited to 20 MPH, though VTUVIA's three newest bikes publish no speed at all.

In some jurisdictions a bike over the cap is treated as a moped or motor vehicle, with registration, licensing and insurance consequences. In others enforcement is minimal and the rule bites only after an incident — precisely when you least want to discover it. On shared-use paths the rules are stricter still, which makes this a poor foundation for a daily commute.

Who genuinely benefits, and who does not

The case for two motors rests on the ground rather than the bike: sustained gradients long enough that a single hub motor heats up and cuts power; loose surfaces as a routine rather than an occasion; heavier riders near the payload ceiling, since the AMYET bikes that publish one are rated to 330 lb — and neither the K10 nor the Ares publishes a payload at all — with approaching a ceiling raising torque demand at every start, as our guide for heavier riders sets out; and cargo or towing.

The case against applies to more people. Flat commuting draws on none of it, range as a priority argues the other way, anyone who lifts the bike is choosing the heaviest option in the line-up, and anyone who needs to be clearly legal runs into the nominal wattage cap.

The most useful test is honest rather than technical. Think about the hardest thing your route asks of a bike, then ask whether it is a power problem or a grip problem. Grip problems are what a second driven wheel fixes. Power problems are usually better solved by gearing — the mid-drive answer — or by pedalling.

Living with two motors

Assembly. AMYET ships the G60 and the EB26 90 percent assembled with a toolkit, and recommends professional installation for the S8 — reasonable for a full-suspension dual-motor bike with hydraulic brakes. The Ares listing says nothing at all about assembly. Budget for a shop build either way.

Punctures become a two-motor job. On a single-motor bike a front puncture is a five-minute roadside fix. On a dual-motor bike both wheels carry a motor, a cable and a torque arm. Diagnosis is harder too: with two motors and two looms, an intermittent fault becomes a process of elimination.

Certification. AMYET states UL 2849 for the G60 and the EB26. The same claim does not appear on the S8, the K10 or the Ares listings, so for those three it is not published — an unpublished claim rather than a negative finding. If indoor charging depends on certification where you live, ask AMYET directly.

A decision checklist

Three or more yes answers, and a dual motor is a reasonable purchase. Fewer, and you are buying capability you will not use.

  • Does your regular route include a climb long enough that you would notice a motor fading part way up?
  • Do you ride loose ground — sand, gravel, snow, unmade track — more than occasionally?
  • Are you, with kit and cargo, within about 50 lb of the payload rating?
  • Do you regularly pull away uphill from a standstill under load?
  • Are you confident a bike over the common 750W nominal cap is acceptable where you ride?
  • Can you accept roughly 30 miles of planning range rather than roughly 38, and a price around half as much again?

For most people the answer is no, and the better bike is the single-motor one with the largest battery you can afford. If your answers went the other way, ask one more question: is your problem grip, or gradient? If it is grip, two driven wheels are the right tool, and the G60 versus S8 and EB26 versus S8 comparisons work the money through. If it is gradient, a geared mid-drive does more with one motor than a second hub does with two — and there are five of those here now, from three brands, at $2,499 to $2,999 against the S8's $1,049 and the Ares's $1,099.

Common questions

Is a dual motor e-bike twice as fast as a single motor one?

No. Top speed is limited by aerodynamic drag, motor winding and the controller, not by how many motors are fitted. What a second motor adds is tractive effort — the ability to put force down without a wheel slipping — and thermal headroom on a long climb. On dry tarmac a single rear wheel already has more grip than a 1000W motor can use, so the second motor contributes very little there. Its value appears on gradients, on loose surfaces and when the bike is heavily loaded.

Does a dual motor e-bike have worse range?

Usually, in the riding it is built for. Two motors driving simultaneously consume energy faster than one, and a second hub adds drag even when unpowered. Manufacturers compensate with a larger battery, but that battery is covering the extra consumption rather than extending the ride. As an estimate, the AMYET S8 at 1200 watt-hours and roughly 40 watt-hours per mile works out near 30 miles, while the single-motor G60 at 960 watt-hours and roughly 25 watt-hours per mile works out near 38. Both are arithmetic from published capacities, not tested figures.

What does 3000W mean on a dual motor e-bike?

It is a combined peak figure — both motors at their short-burst maximum at the same moment. The rated figure, which is what the motors can sustain without overheating, is lower. On the AMYET S8 the rated figure is two 1000W motors, so 2000W combined, and AMYET publishes both numbers across its pages; the folding AMYET Ares 2 carries exactly the same pair of claims. When comparing bikes, put rated against rated and peak against peak. Peak power tells you how the bike feels pulling away from a junction; rated power tells you whether it will still be pulling three minutes into a climb.

Dual hub motors or one mid-drive for climbing?

For gradient alone, the mid-drive. A hub motor delivers its torque to the wheel unchanged in every gear, so a second one adds grip and thermal headroom without changing the ratio. A mid-drive turns the chainring, so the cassette multiplies its torque in low gears. EUNORAU publishes 220 Nm through eight gears for the FLASH and 160 Nm through eleven for both the SPECTER-S and the SPECTER-ST, VTUVIA publishes the same 160 Nm for the FMB, and Velotric publishes 100 Nm through a 9-speed 11–46T for the Discover M. Against that, the strongest figure here outside the mid-drives is the 100 Nm of VTUVIA’s Gemini, whose motor position VTUVIA does not state; the most any bike here states from a confirmed single hub motor is the 92 Nm of EUNORAU’s FLASH Lite. Where a second motor wins is loose ground, because two contact patches can put down force that one cannot regardless of gearing.

Why can I not compare the AMYET S8 on torque?

Because AMYET does not publish a torque figure for it, or for any of their five bikes. The S8 listing gives two 1000W rated motors, a 3000W combined peak and a 35 degree maximum slope claim. None of those is a newton-metre number, and newton-metres are what predict climbing. VTUVIA publishes 65 to 160 Nm across five of its six bikes, EUNORAU 55 to 220 Nm across all five of its, and Velotric 40 to 100 Nm across all six of its, so sixteen of the twenty-two bikes here can be ranked on the specification that matters before you spend anything. The S8 and the Ares cannot. That is a documentation gap rather than evidence the motors are weak — and EUNORAU shows it is closeable, publishing 184 Nm combined for the FLASH Lite’s dual-hub option.

Are dual motor e-bikes street legal in the US?

Frequently not, at their full specification. Around forty states use a three-class framework, and most of those also cap a legal e-bike at roughly 750 watts nominal. Two 1000W rated motors is 2000W combined nominal, well beyond that ceiling. A bike over the cap may be classed as a moped or motor vehicle, with registration, licensing and insurance implications, and shared-use path rules are often stricter still. AMYET also publishes up to 32 MPH for both the S8 and the Ares, above the 28 MPH Class 3 limit. Rules vary by state, county and city.

Can I turn one motor off on a dual motor e-bike?

Many dual-motor bikes offer a mode that drives the rear wheel only, which is the sensible default for road riding because it cuts consumption significantly. Whether a particular bike does, and how the switch is presented, depends on the controller and display. AMYET does not publish the details of mode selection for the S8 or the Ares on their listings, so if single-motor mode matters to your range planning it is worth confirming with the seller before ordering rather than assuming the feature is present.

Keep reading